DEVON & SOMERSET FIRE & RESCUE AUTHORITY

(Annual Meeting)

14 July 2009

Present:-

Councillors Boyd, Burridge-Clayton, Cann, Dyke, Eastman, Foggin, Fry, Gordon, Gribble, Healey, Horsfall, Hughes OBE, Leaves, Manning, Mrs. Nicholson, Radford, Smith, Turner, Viney, Wallace, Way, Woodman and Yeomans

Apologies:-

Councillors Mills and Randall Johnson

DSFRA/1. <u>Election of Chairman</u>

RESOLVED that Councillor Hughes OBE be elected Chairman of the Authority until its Annual Meeting in 2010.

DSFRA/2. Minutes

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the Annual Meeting held on 28 May 2008 be signed as a correct record.

DSFRA/3. Award of OBE to Councillor B. Hughes

The Authority congratulated the Chairman on his award of Order of the British Empire in the Queen's Birthday Honours List.

DSFRA/4. Election of Vice Chairman

RESOLVED that Councillor Healey be elected Vice-Chairman of the Authority until its Annual Meeting in 2010.

DSFRA/5. Declarations of Interest

Members of the Authority were invited to consider whether they had any **personal/personal and prejudicial interests** in items as set out in the agenda for this meeting and to declare any such interests at this time.

No interests were declared.

DSFRA/6. <u>Review of Constitutional Governance Framework Documents</u>

The Authority considered a report of the Clerk to the Authority (DSFRA/09/18) on a review of the Authority's constitutional framework documents and proposing, in light of the outcome of the review, revisions to:

- Financial Regulations;
- Scheme of Delegations;
- Member/Officer Protocol;

• Strategy on the Prevention and Detection of Fraud and Corruption.

RESOLVED

- (a) that the proposed revision to the Authority's Standing Orders, as set out in paragraph 2.4 of report DSFRA/09/18, be approved;
- (b) that the revised Financial Regulations, Scheme of Delegations, Member/Officer Protocol and Strategy for the Prevention and Detection of Fraud and Corruption, as enclosed separately with the agenda for this meeting, be approved;
- (c) that, subject to (a) and (b) above, the constitutional governance framework documents as listed at paragraph 1.1 of the report be endorsed;
- (d) that it be noted that further amendments to the documents may be submitted to future meetings of the Authority as and when required.

DSFRA/7. <u>Schedule of Appointments to Committees, Working Parties Etc. and</u> <u>Appointments to Outside Bodies</u>

The Committee considered a Schedule of Appointments to Committees and Outside Bodies (DSFRA/09/19) to which was appended, for information, a copy of the existing Terms of Reference for each of the Committees within the current structure.

RESOLVED

- that the Terms of Reference for Committees etc. as set out in Annex
 to the Schedule (DSFRA/09/19) be endorsed;
- (b) that appointments as indicated below be made to Committees etc. and Outside Bodies, the term of office to be until the Annual Meeting of the Authority in 2010 unless otherwise indicated;
- (c) that the appointments of Messrs. Phillips, Watson and Withers as Independent Members of the Authority's Standards Committee be reaffirmed until the Annual Meeting of the Authority in 2010

(A) COMMITTEES ETC.

Resources Committee

Councillors Gordon, Horsfall, Hughes OBE, Smith, Turner, Woodman and Yeomans.

Human Resources Management and Resources Committee

Councillors Boyd, Burridge-Clayton, Cann, Manning, Mrs. Nicholson, Turner and Wallace.

Audit and Performance Review Committee

Councillors Burridge-Clayton, Dyke, Mills, Radford, Viney, Wallace and Way.

Community Safety and Corporate Planning Committee

Councillors Eastman, Foggin, Fry, Healey, Leaves, Manning and Woodman.

Standards Committee

Councillors Gribble, Horsfall, Manning, Mills, Randall Johnson and Yeomans.

Capital Programme Working Party

Councillors Fry, Smith, Wallace and Woodman.

Equality and Diversity Lead Member

Councillor Eastman.

<u>Member Champion for Climate Change</u> Councillor Leaves.

(B) OUTSIDE BODIES

Local Government Association

(a) Fire Service Forum

Authority Chairman (Councillor Hughes OBE)

(b) General Assembly

Member	Votes Exercised
Chairman (Councillor Hughes OBE)	1 Corporate and 5 Service
Councillor Healey	4 Service
Councillor Horsfall	4 Service
Councillor Viney	4 Service

- (c) Urban Commission Councillor Gordon.
- (d) Rural Commission Councillor Smith.

Devon Strategic Partnership

Councillor Way

Safer Devon Partnership Executive Group

Councillor Randall Johnson

Somerset Local Strategic Partnership

Councillor Horsfall

South West Councils

Councillor Hughes OBE

South West Provincial Council

Chair of Human Resources Management and Development Committee (once appointed).

South West Regional Management Board

Main Member	Named Substitute
Councillor Hughes OBE	Councillor Fry
Councillor Healey	Councillor Boyd
Councillor Gordon	Councillor Gribble

South West Forum of Fire Authorities

As per South West Regional Management Board above.

South West Fire Control Ltd.

Councillor Healey (**NOTE**: term of office to be until Councillor Healey resigns OR ceases to be a Member of the Authority).

Devon and Exeter Racial Equality Council

Councillor Manning.

Plymouth and District Racial Equality Council Councillor Gordon.

Somerset Racial Equality Council.

Councillor Turner.

DSFRA/8. Devon & Somerset Fire & Rescue Authority Draft Calendar of Meetings 2009/10

RESOLVED that, subject to amending the date of the September 2009 meeting of the Audit and Performance Review Committee to:

Friday 11 September 2009 at 10.00hours

the draft Calendar of Meetings for the Authority for the 2009/10 Municipal Year (DSFRA/09/20), as attached to the agenda for the meeting, be approved.

The meeting started at 10.00hours and finished at 11.48hours.